Australian Light Horse Association
22 July 2019, 08:49:46 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:
ALHA Website:  http://www.lighthorse.org.au

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 8th light horse  (Read 2691 times)
Administrator
Administrator

View Profile
« on: 15 September 2011, 01:35:53 pm »

gerry hand
Forum Member

3 Posts   Posted - 17/10/2002 :  7:03:15 PM 
Im looking for any photo;s of the 8th lighthorse as a group or indaviduals from world war one exspecialy my great uncle bert sanderson reg No 329 injured at the battle for the neck at gollipoli and invalided back to oz I have most of his paper work but no photo if any one can help I would be very pleased being a soldier my self if any one could help please send message or photo to fingers8@bigpond.com.au thank you.
stevebecker
Veteran Forum Member

1353 Posts    Posted - 18/10/2002 :  1:29:10 PM 
Mate,
Read "Maygar's Boys" by Cameron Simpson

Its has Bert in it (no photo but).

He was MID on the 30th June 1915 and was WIA 7-8-15 during the charge at the Nek.

It does have many photos of men from the 8th LHR which you may find of interest.

S.B

Roy
Forum Member

Australia
77 Posts    Posted - 23/10/2002 :  1:16:12 PM 
Refer also to:
"The best fellows anyone could wish to meet..."
George Auchterlonie and the 8th LH Regt AIF

Edited by Allan Box
First published 1992

by Allan Box School of Education, Monash Uni, Gippsland Campus

Roy
Forum Member

Australia
77 Posts    Posted - 23/10/2002 :  1:18:23 PM 
And also:
"Heroes and Gentlemen" Col Tom Price and the VMR.

by Winty Calder

Jimaringle Publications 1927

David
Forum Member

Australia
143 Posts    Posted - 23/10/2002 :  8:26:11 PM